In Congress’s Search For New Lok Sabha Leader, A “G-23” Twist

Congress to replace Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury as leader in Lok Sabha (File)

New Delhi:

Adhir Chowdhury will be replaced as the leader of the Congress in the Lok Sabha and some of the leaders of G23 — who wrote the explosive letter criticising the functioning of the party to Sonia Gandhi — are contenders for the post, sources have said. The monsoon session of parliament begins on July 19.

Sources said Rahul Gandhi will not be the leader of the party in the Lok Sabha.

Those who are in the running include Shashi Tharoor and Manish Tiwari. The names of Gaurav Gogoi, Ravneet Singh Bittu and Uttam Kumar Reddy are also being considered.

Of them, Mr Tharoor and Manish Tewari are part of G-23 – the group of dissenters who sent the first critical letter to the party in August last year, triggering an internal storm and ended up losing the various party positions they held.

Speculation about the removal of Mr Chowdhury has been on for long. Party sources, however, said it is being done as the “One man one post” rule will be rigorously enforced now.

Mr Chowdhury is both chief of Bengal Congress as well as the and Leader in Lok Sabha. Others who hold two posts will also be relieved of one, party sources said.

The party has called for a strategy session for parliament on July 15. Sources said the Congress will demand an investigation by a Joint Parliamentary Committee into the Rafale deal.

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *