Tamil Nadu Election Result 2021: Key Constituencies: MK Stalin leads in Kolathur, Udhayanidhi in Chepauk, DMK most likely to sweep TN


Tamil Nadu Assembly Election Result 2021: Official trends by the ECI show DMK is in the leading. DMK chief MK Stalin from the Kolathur constituency, and his son Udhayanidhi Stalin from the Chepauk constituency are leading by a margin of 3,697 votes and 16,819 votes, respectively. 

Edapaddi Palaniswami of AIADMK is leading in his Edappadi constituency against Sambathkumar T of DMK by a margin of 19,903 votes and O Panneerselvam of AIADMK is ahead of DMK’s Thanga Tamilselvan in the Bodiyanakkanur constituency by a margin of 350 votes. 

MNM’s Kamal Haasan is in the leading in the Coimbatore South constituency by a margin of 534 votes.

However, TTV Dhinakaran, who did not choose to contest from the RK Nagar Assembly constituency, which he had won in 2017, for re-election is trailing behind Kadambur C Raju of AIADMK. Raju is in the leading by a margin of 1,359 votes. In 2016, Late Jayalalithaa of AIADMK represented the RK Nagar assembly constituency.  In 2017, Dhinakaran won the RK Nagar assembly constituency.

The 16th Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections were held on April 06, 2021, in a single phase. The results for the 234-seats high octane TN Assembly Elections are to be declared today, May 02, 2021. The 2021 TN Assembly Elections are the state’s first elections since the death of two key leaders, J. Jayalalithaa, AIADMK, and M. Karunanidhi, DMK.

The Dravidian politics in 2021 witnessed competition from the Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) party led by Kamal Hassan and the Amma Makkal Munnettra Kazagam party led by TTV Dhinakaran.

Here are the key constituencies to watch out for:

Edappadi: Tamil Nadu CM and AIADMK top leader K Palaniswami Edappadi is contesting from the Edappadi constituency for the seventh time. He has contested six times from the Edappadi constituency since 1989 and only lost twice. He is facing T M Sambathkumar of the DMK and N Pookadai Sekar of AMMK.

Bodinayakkanur: Tamil Nadu Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam is contesting from the Bodinayakkanur district. He had won from this district in 2011 by 30,000 votes and in 2016 by 15,000 votes. This year, he is facing Thanga Tamilselvan of the DMK.

Kolathur: DMK President M K Stalin is contesting from the Kolathur constituency. This is his first election without his father and DMK leader M Karunanidhi who passed away in 2018. This year, he is facing Aadi Rajaram of AIADMK and J Arumugham of AMMK. In 2016, Stalin won by 36,000 votes and in 2011, he won by just 2,734 votes in the Kolathur district.

Chepauk: Udhayanidhi Stalin of DMK, son of M K Stalin, is making his debut from Chepauk district. He is facing AVA Kassali (PMK), I Rajendran (AMMK), Muhammad Ithris (IJK), and Jayasimaharaja (NTK). In the past, J Anbazhagan has won from Chepauk in 2011 by 9,203 votes and in 2016 by 14,000 votes.

Coimbatore South: Actor-turned-politician and the Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) party leader Kamal Haasan is contesting from the Coimbatore South against Mayura Jayakumar, Congress ally of DMK and Vanathi Srinivasan, BJP ally of AIADMK.

Kovilpatti: The Amma Makkal Munnettra Kazagam (AMMK) party leader TTV Dhinakaran, also the nephew of VK Sasikala, is contesting from this constituency. He is facing Kadambur C Raju of AIADMK and K Sreenivasan, CPM ally of DMK. Raju had won Kovilpatti by 26,000 votes in 2011.



Leading Candidate

Trailing Candidate

Votes Margin


Palaniswami Edappadi

Sambathkumar T



O Panneerselvam

Thanga Tamilselvan



M K Stalin




Udhayanidhi Stalin

Kassali A V A


Coimbatore South 

Kamal Haasan

Mayura S Jayakumar



Kadambur C Raju

TTV Dhinakaran


Source by [author_name]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here