Tokyo Paralympics: India to send seven-member Para Badminton team; Suhas LY and Sarkar get bipartite quotas

Image Source : FILE PHOTO

Suhas Lalinakere Yathiraj 

India will send a seven-member contingent to Tokyo as Para Badminton is set to mark its debut in Paralympic Games, starting next month from August 24. In a major boost to India’s medal odds at the showpiece, the Badminton World Federation (BWF) on Friday granted two bipartite quotas to the nation. 

IAS officer cum shuttler and Noida district magistrate (DM) Suhas Lalinakere Yathiraj has been granted the quota in men’s singles SL4 while Manoj Sarkar has made the cut in men’s singles SL3. The Indian contingent will be led by World no.1 Pramod Bhagat.

Yathiraj, a bronze medallist at the 2018 Asian Para Games, said that he’s confident of bagging a medal in Tokyo. Yathiraj, an IAS officer of the 2007 batch, will now be putting in extra hours to bring glory to the country.

“Being the DM of Noida, it was a very challenging time during the Pandemic. But I never gave up on my training and devoted all my focus and time into it. I am very much confident to clinch a medal at Tokyo 2020,” he said.

Source by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *